What Club Penguin Means to Me

Disney is shutting down the desktop version of Club Penguin today. Of course, this was bound to happen eventually, as the game is nowhere near as popular and successful as it once was, but now that it’s actually happening, it really does make me quite sad. I know this is a cliche thing to say, but Club Penguin is more than just a game to me. I’ve been involved with it in some capacity for over a decade now. I literally grew from a kid to an adult, and while many things in my life changed over that time, Club Penguin was always there.

One night in December of 2006, my best friend, Bluemoss2, called me on my family’s landline phone and told me about Club Penguin. Over the phone, I signed up and created Lorenzo Bean, and he showed me around, helping me find the Campfire Pin at the Ski Lodge. We also attempted to find Rockhopper, since he was on the island at the time. From then on, we would often log on and talk over the phone while playing Cart Surfer, Ice Fishing, and Sled Racing against each other. Back then, the chat filters were much less strict, so it was very easy to communicate and make several friends. The social aspect was really what kept me playing. I was, and still am a very reserved person in real life, so Club Penguin was an easy way for me to connect and bond with others. To this day I believe that relationships you build online are just as important and valuable as the ones you develop in person.

LBX Club Penguin Cheats is the longest running Club Penguin news site ever at over 9 years old, and even though it only has 300,000 views, it’s one of my proudest results of playing Club Penguin. It wouldn’t have been possible without the help of Bluemoss2, Mchappy, Zuke, and Kyle103, so thank you to those guys for helping keep the site updated when I couldn’t.

I’ve also probably spent a few thousand hours on Club Penguin armies, most notably the Ice Warriors, Army of Club Penguin, and Golds. I’m not even sure what to say about this anymore, I mean I was involved with armies for almost their entire existence, and witnessed most of the major developments there. I made countless friends and just had an incredible time, especially earlier on, because of Club Penguin armies.

Anyways, I don’t want this post to drag on too long, so I will end it here. Club Penguin is something that I grew up alongside, and represents the times in my life where I didn’t have to worry about anything except having fun and being with friends, and that’s why it’s sad that I will never be able to log on to the real game again for the sake of nostalgia.

If anyone is interested, there is a very well-made new private server for Club Penguin called Club Penguin Rewritten, which is basically a restored version of Club Penguin as it was in 2009. It has a pretty dedicated team who will keep it updated; they’re even going to be putting the old parties into the game.

Here’s a farewell video I made with Bluemoss2:

Thank you all for supporting this site over the years. I will never delete this site for the sake of history and the memories.

Goodbye, my friends

~Lorenzo Bean

Posted on March 28, 2017, in Club Penguin Cheats. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment